New Covid-19 alert levels announced by Boris Johnson

Coronavirus: What each tier means for restrictions across UK

Under all levels, schools, universities and childcare providers will remain open and youth clubs can continue to run activities

Tom Batchelor@_tombatchelor
Monday 12 October 2020 21:30

Boris Johnson has announced a three-tier approach to coronavirus restrictions with all of England put into “medium”, “high” and “very high” risk categories.

The prime minister set out the simplified and standardised system in a bid to stem the surge in Covid-19 cases.

Under all three tiers, schools, universities and childcare providers remain open and youth clubs can continue to run activities.

But there are some key differences. Here is a breakdown of what each tier means.

Very high

For areas placed in the “very high” tier, restrictions will be placed on household mixing both indoors and outdoors, travel may be limited and pubs and bars not serving “substantial meals” will be forced to close.

The rule of six will still apply in outdoor public spaces and sports arenas but indoors, in gardens and at ticketed events, interactions will be limited to a single household or support bubble.

Local leaders will help to determine whether other venues should be closed, such as gyms or casinos.

The restrictions will be reviewed every 28 days but could be extended for up to six months.


In “high” tier locations, household mixing is banned indoors, although support bubbles will still be permitted, while the rule of six will continue to apply outdoors.

Most areas which are already subject to local restrictions will move to this level, the prime minister said.


These areas will be subject to the same national measures which currently apply across the country.

These include the 10pm curfew for pubs and restaurants and a ban on most gatherings of more than six people.

Areas under each alert level

Very high

Liverpool City Region

- Liverpool

- Knowsley

- Wirral

- St Helens

- Sefton

- Halton



- Cheshire West and Chester

- Cheshire East

Greater Manchester

- Manchester

- Bolton

- Bury

- Stockport

- Tameside

- Trafford

- Wigan

- Salford

- Rochdale

- Oldham


- Warrington


- High Peak: the wards of Tintwistle, Padfield, Dinting, St John’s, Old Glossop, Whitfield, Simmondley, Gamesley, Howard Town, Hadfield South and Hadfield North


- Lancashire

- Blackpool

- Preston

- Blackburn with Darwen

- Burnley

West Yorkshire

- Leeds

- Bradford

- Kirklees

- Calderdale

- Wakefield

South Yorkshire

- Barnsley

- Rotherham

- Doncaster

- Sheffield

North East

- Newcastle

- South Tyneside

- North Tyneside

- Gateshead

- Sunderland

- Durham

- Northumberland

Tees Valley

- Middlesbrough

- Redcar and Cleveland

- Stockton-on-Tees

- Darlington

- Hartlepool

West Midlands

- Birmingham

- Sandwell

- Solihull

- Wolverhampton

- Walsall


- Leicester

- Oadby and Wigston


- Nottinghamshire

- Nottingham City


All other areas in England.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments