EU referendum: The Cabinet Ministers voting to leave – and stay in – the EU

'I'm disappointed that we're not going to be on the same side as we have this vital argument about our country's future'

Matt Payton
Saturday 20 February 2016 10:27 GMT
David Cameron must now deal with rebellion as members of his own Cabinet choose to campaign for Vote Leave
David Cameron must now deal with rebellion as members of his own Cabinet choose to campaign for Vote Leave (Reuters)

After the British Cabinet met to discuss the deal David Cameron secured in Brussels, ministers have been announcing whether they willl campaign to stay in or leave the European Union.

Before the meeting, Prime Minister David Cameron already accepted his close ally, Justice Minister Michael Gove, would campaign for Britain to leave the EU.

London mayor Boris Johnson has spoken out about his irresolution regarding the referendum.

Here are all the Ministers who have announced their support for the Leave campaign:

OUT: Chris Grayling, Leader of the Commons

The ruling against Chris Grayling's decision is a major victory for legal charity Public Law Project (EPA)

OUT: Iain Duncan Smith, Work and Pensions Secretary

The Work and Pensions Secretary also questioned the effectiveness on the curbs to migrants’ benefits on immigration to the UK. (Getty Images)

OUT: Theresa Villiers, the Northern Ireland Secretary


OUT: John Whittingdale, the Culture Secretary

John Whittingdale, the Culture Secretary, says England is ready to stand in to host the 2022 World Cup if Fifa need a replacement (PA)

OUT: Priti Patel, Minister for Employment

The International Development Secretary suggests that deals benefiting multinationals should be oiled with money from the aid budget (PA)

And here are all those supporting the Prime Minister and the In campaign:

IN: George Osborne, Chancellor of the Exchequer

IN: Theresa May, Home Secretary


IN: Michael Fallon, Defence Secretary

Michael Fallon made the controversial comments in a speech to Tory activists (EPA)

IN: Sajid Javid, Secretary for Business, Innovation and Skills

Sajid Javid, MP for Bromsgrove, became the new Culture Secretary after Maria Miller's resignation (Getty Images)

IN: Nicky Morgan, Minister for Eduction and Women and Equalities


IN: Health Secretary Jeremy Hunt

Jeremy Hunt told Parliament is was a "difficult decision" but the NHS needed certainty (PA)

Here is a list of other ministers voting to say in the EU:

IN: Patrick McLoughlin, Transport Secretary


IN: Liz Truss, Secretary for Envirnment, Food and Rural Affairs

Liz Truss said the move would make education more equal

IN: Oliver Letwin, the Chancellor of Duchy Lancaster


IN: Stephen Crabb, Wales Secretary

IN: Anna Soubry, Minister for Small Business

IN: Jeremy White, Attorney General

IN: Justine Greening, Secretary for International Development

IN: Greg Hands, Chief Secretary for the Treasury

IN: Matt Hancock, Paymaster General and Minister for the Cabinet Office

IN: Rob Haflon, Minister without Portfolio

Join our commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in