Labour announces shadow cabinet reshuffle as the party looks towards its leadership election

Harriet Harman's reorganisation replaces a number of big names

Jon Stone
Monday 11 May 2015 18:50 BST
(AFP/Getty Images)

Labour’s interim leader Harriet Harman has announced the party’s new frontbench line-up going into its leadership election.

The reshuffle primarily replaces big names who lost their seats at the general election.

Former shadow treasury minister Chris Leslie is to replace Ed Balls as shadow chancellor, while Hilary Benn will become the shadow foreign secretary.

The former shadow foreign secretary Douglas Alexander lost his seat at the general election to the Scottish National Party.

Sadiq Khan is leaving the shadow cabinet to focus on his bid to win the party’s London Mayor candidacy, while Jon Cruddas, the party’s policy reviewer, is leaving to set up his own independent review into why Labour lost the election.

Emma Reynolds will become the shadow communities secretary while Chris Bryant will become shadow culture secretary.

Shabana Mahmood will shadow the chief secretary to the Treasury, which was vacated by Mr Leslie.

Ian Murry, the party’s only remaining MP from a Scottish constituency, will become shadow Scottish Secretary.

Labour lost a number of big names at the general election after a surprise rout in marginal seats and a near-wipeout in Scotland.

Join our commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in