More MPs join Labour revolt on terror Bill

Colin Brown,Deputy Political Editor
Thursday 27 March 2008 01:00

Up to 10 Labour MPs have switched their votes against the Government's bid to detain terrorist suspects without charge for 42 days, threatening Gordon Brown with almost certain defeat on the Bill.

A group of MPs who supported the Government on extending the period to 90 days when Tony Blair first introduced the proposal have swung against the measure. Geoff Hoon, the Chief Whip, has been warned that up to 10 Labour MPs have changed their vote and now back the status quo of 28 days. They include Andrew MacKinlay, Mohammad Sarwar, Fabian Hamilton and Andrew Dismore.

A hard core of Labour opponents are ready to vote against the anti-terrorism Bill on the second reading on 1 April but at least 50 Labour MPs are threatening to vote down the most controversial clause during its Commons committee stage. Alan Simpson, of the left-wing Campaign Group of Labour MPs, said Mr Brown was increasingly "isolated and out of touch".

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments