So, who are the 'moronic MPs' who nominated Jeremy Corbyn for the Labour leadership contest?

John McTernan said the 35 MPs who put Jeremy Corbyn on the ballot paper should be 'ashamed of themselves' after poll puts him on course to win

Matt Dathan
Wednesday 22 July 2015 10:16 BST

The MPs who allowed Jeremy Corbyn to enter the Labour leadership contest so the party could "have a debate" are morons, according to a former adviser to Tony Blair.

Mr Corbyn, who is on course to become Labour leader according to the first public poll of those eligible to vote, scraped onto the ballot paper by winning the backing of 35 MPs - the minimum number of nominations needed to enter the race.

Some admitted nominating Mr Corbyn to ensure the contest represented the full spectrum of voices in the party and hoped members would dismiss the crazy views of the left in favour of a more mainstream candidate.

But John McTernan, who advised Mr Blair during his time as Prime Minister, blamed them for the "disastrous" poll, which gave Mr Corbyn an astonishing 17 per cent lead over the second-placed candidate, Andy Burnham.

In a blistering attack, Mr McTernan told BBC Two Newsnight: “The moronic MPs who nominated Jeremy Corbyn to ‘have a debate’ need their heads felt. They should be ashamed of themselves. They’re morons.”

So who were the 35 MPs?

  1. Diane Abbott, MP for Hackney North and Stoke Newington
  2. Rushanara Ali, MP for Bethnal Green and Bow
  3. Margaret Beckett, MP for Derby South
  4. Richard Burgon, MP for Leeds East
  5. Dawn Butler MP, for Brent Central
  6. Ronnie Campbell, MP for Blyth Valley
  7. Sarah Champion, MP for Rotherham
  8. Jo Cox, MP for Batley and Spen
  9. Neil Coyle, MP for Bermondsey and Old Southwark
  10. Jon Cruddas, MP for Dagenham
  11. Clive Efford, MP for Eltham
  12. Frank Field, MP for Birkenhead
  13. Louise Haigh, MP for Sheffield, Heeley
  14. Kelvin Hopkins, MP for Luton North
  15. Rupa Huq, MP for Ealing Central and Acton
  16. Imran Hussain, MP for Bradford East
  17. Huw Irranca-Davies, MP for Ogmore
  18. Sadiq Khan, MP for Tooting
  19. David Lammy, MP for Tottenham
  20. Clive Lewis MP, for Norwich South
  21. Rebecca Long-Bailey, MP for Salford and Eccles
  22. Gordon Marsden, MP for Blackpool South
  23. John McDonnell, MP for Hayes and Harlington
  24. Michael Meacher, MP for Oldham West and Royton
  25. Grahame Morris, MP for Easington
  26. Chi Onwurah, MP for Newcastle Upon Tyne Central
  27. Kate Osamor, MP for Edmonton
  28. Tulip Siddiq, MP for Hampstead and Kilburn
  29. Dennis Skinner, MP for Bolsover
  30. Cat Smith, MP for Lancaster and Fleetwood
  31. Andrew Smith, MP for Oxford East
  32. Gareth Thomas, MP for Harrow West
  33. Emily Thornberry, MP for Islington South and Finsbury
  34. Jon Trickett, MP for Hemsworth
  35. Catherine West, MP for Hornsey and Wood Green

Mr McTernan said the damage must be undone by one or two of the three mainstream candidates pulling out of the race to ensure Mr Corbyn does not win and lurch Labour to the left.

“These figures are disastrous for the Labour Party, disastrous. The fact is the other candidates need to decide who is the ABC candidate - the Anyone But Corbyn candidate,” he said.

Attempting to explain why Mr Corbyn was performing so well with Labour party members, he gave a straight-forward answer: "Political parties are full of suicidally inclined activists and clearly some Labour members are suicidally inclined."

Join our commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in