Ramadan 2016 timetable: When is sunrise and sunset across the UK?

In order to fast during Ramadan, it is crucial to work on exact times

Jacob Furedi
Friday 10 June 2016 17:24
comments
A Malaysian religious student reads the Koran at school during the Muslim holy fasting month of Ramadan in Hulu Langat, near Kuala Lumpur
A Malaysian religious student reads the Koran at school during the Muslim holy fasting month of Ramadan in Hulu Langat, near Kuala Lumpur

Ramadan marks the ninth month of the Muslim lunar calendar. It commemorates the month in which the Koran was first revealed to Mohammed and is the holiest month for Muslims.

Its observance is regarded as one of the Five Pillars of Islam. Currently, an estimated 22 per cent of the global population is participating in Ramadan, which started on 6 June.

During the sacred month, observers are only able to eat or drink before the sun rises and again after it sets. Once the sun has set, known as iftar, Muslims take part in post-iftar prayers.

The purpose of fasting is to remind Muslims of those enduring poverty and hardship. It is also a demonstration of self-control which brings them closer to Allah.

In order to fast during Ramadan, it is crucial that Muslims know the exact times of both sunrise and sunset. This is made even more complicated given that the sun rises and sets at different times in different places.

Here, we have compiled a list of the times at which the sun rises and sets in cities across the UK during Ramadan.

Fast | Date Sunrise Sunset

4 | Thu, 9 June 2:43 am 9:19 pm

5 | Fri, 10 June 2:42 am 9:20 pm

6 | Sat, 11 June 2:41 am 9:20 pm

7 | Sun, 12 June 2:40 am 9:21 pm

8 | Mon, 13 June 2:39 am 9.22 pm

9 | Tue, 14 June 2:39 am 9:22 pm

10 | Wed, 15 June 2:39 am 9:23 pm

11 | Thu, 16 June 2:39 am 9:23 pm

12 | Fri, 17 June 2:39 am 9:23 pm

13 | Sat, 18 June 2:39 am 9:24 pm

14 | Sun, 19 June 2:39 am 9.24 pm

15 | Mon, 20 June 2:40 am 9:24 pm

16 | Tue, 21 June 2:40 am 9:25 pm

17 | Wed, 22 June 2:40 am 9:25 pm

18 | Thu, 23 June 2:42 am 9:25 pm

19 | Fri, 24 June 2:42 am 9:25 pm

20 | Sat, 25 June 2:43 am 9:25 pm

21 | Sun, 26 June 2:44 am 9:25 pm

22 | Mon, 27 June 2:44 am 9.25 pm

23 | Tue, 28 June 2.46 am 9:24 pm

24 | Wed, 29 June 2.47 am 9:24 pm

25 | Thu, 30 June 2.47 am 9:24 pm

26 | Fri, 1 July 2.49 am 9.24 pm

27 | Sat, 2 July 2.51 am 9:23 pm

29 | Sun, 3 July 2.51 am 9:23 pm

30 | Mon, 4 July 2.53 am 9:22 pm

*31 | Tue, 5 July 2.54 am 9.22 pm

*The beginning and end of Ramadan depend on moon sightings

The rest of the UK (compared to London)

City Sunrise Sunset

Birmingham +8 mins +6 mins

Bradford +9 mins +8 mins

Cardiff +13 mins +12 mins

Glasgow +22 mins +40 mins

Leeds +7 mins +4 Mins

Liverpool +12 mins +9 mins

Manchester +10 mins +7 mins

Middlesborough +8 mins +14 mins

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments