Stay up to date with notifications from The Independent

Notifications can be managed in browser preferences.

Watch live: Winners of the 2023 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine announced

Lucy Leeson
Monday 02 October 2023 10:28 BST

Watch live as the winners of the 2023 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine or announced on Monday 2 October.

Every year, the prize is given to an individual, team, or organisation that has helped humanity by making a significant advancement in either field.

The winner of this year’s prize has been informed, and in just a short while, the public will learn too.

In 2022, the prize was awarded to the Swedish geneticist SvantePääbo “for his discoveries concerning the genomes of extinct hominins and human evolution.”

Six Nobel Prizes are awarded every year, each recognising an individual’s or organisation’s groundbreaking contribution in a specific field.

Prizes are given for physiology or medicine, physics, chemistry, economic science, literature and peace work.

This year, there are 351 candidates for the Nobel Peace Prize. This is the second highest number of candidates ever behind 2016, when 376 candidates were nominated.

Join our commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in