Republicans nominate Donald Trump for Nobel Peace Prize

The president of South Korea has also said Mr Trump deserves the award

Clark Mindock
New York
Thursday 03 May 2018 01:54 BST
Mr Trump has received plenty of attention for his efforts to establish peace on the Korean peninsula
Mr Trump has received plenty of attention for his efforts to establish peace on the Korean peninsula (Getty)

A dozen and a half House Republicans have nominated President Donald Trump for the 2019 Nobel Peace Prize, saying in a letter that he deserves the recognition for his peace efforts on the Korean peninsula.

The 18 Republicans penned the letter to Norwegian Nobel committee saying that Mr Trump should “receive the 2019 Nobel Peace Prize in recognition of his work to end the Korean War, denuclearize the Korean peninsula and bring peace to the region”.

The letter, dated Wednesday, was spearheaded by Indiana Representative Luke Messer.

There are few rules governing who can be nominated for the award — members of national legislative bodies, professors, and former winners of the prize are among the handful of categories eligible. The committee received 330 nominees for the 2018 award, which will be announced later this year.

Mr Trump’s efforts to bring peace to the Korean peninsula, and the denuclearisation of North and South Korea, would fall in line with a recent winner as well. The International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons won in 2017.

The call for him to receive the prize follows after South Korean President Moon Jae-in said that he thinks the American should receive the honour as well.

Mr Trump would not be the only sitting US president to receive the award either. Former President Barack Obama was awarded the honour in 2009 for his “extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between people”.

Critics of that recognition noted that he had been in office for less than a year before receiving the recognition. Mr Obama later joked that he was not sure why he had been given the international honor, either.

Mr Obama was the fourth US president to receive the prize, after Jimmy Carter, Theodore Roosevelt, and Woodrow Wilson.

Wilson is well known for promoting the League of Nations, which was an international precursor to the United Nations.

Mr Trump has frequently railed against international bodies like the UN, and has promoted an “America First” approach to international diplomacy.

Join our commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in