Symonds and Ojha star as Chargers claim IPL crown

By Thahir Asmal
Sunday 23 October 2011 08:23

Deccan Chargers were crowned Indian Premier League champions last night after Pragyan Ojha led a spirited bowling display to help seal a six-run victory over the Royal Challengers Bangalore in Johannesburg.

Adam Gilchrist's men, who finished last in the inaugural event last year, posted a below-par 144-run victory target, but scraped home thanks to the slow left armer's three wickets as well as good displays from Andrew Symonds (2-18) and Harmeet Singh (2-28).

Earlier it was Anil Kumble (4-16) who helped restrict Deccan, despite Herschelle Gibbs hitting a half-century at the Wanderers. But Kumble failed to get the required support from his batsmen with only Roelof van der Merwe (32) and Ross Taylor (27) managing to momentarily threaten, before Bangalore fell narrowly short.

*India will stage the inaugural Twenty20 Champions League, postponed after last year's militant attacks in Mumbai, from 8-23 October, organisers said yesterday.

A statement said the field had been increased by four teams and would feature 12 sides, including the finalists in the second running of the IPL. Delhi Daredevils will be the third Indian team. Two teams each from Australia, England and South Africa as well as the domestic Twenty20 champions from New Zealand, West Indies and Sri Lanka will feature.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments