Caroline Weir in running for FIFA’s Puskas Award for second year running

Erik Lamela and Riyad Mahrez are two more nominees for the accolade.

Pa Sport Staff
Monday 29 November 2021 16:29
Manchester City’s Caroline Weir is nominated for the 2021 Puskas for her goal against Manchester United in February (Tim Goode/PA)
Manchester City’s Caroline Weir is nominated for the 2021 Puskas for her goal against Manchester United in February (Tim Goode/PA)

Manchester City midfielder Caroline Weir has been nominated for FIFA’s 2021 Puskas Award for her goal against Manchester United – the second year in succession she is up for the prize.

The Scotland international is on an 11-player shortlist for the world governing body’s goal of the year award, along with former Tottenham forward Erik Lamela and Manchester City winger Riyad Mahrez

Weir is in the running for her goal in February’s Manchester derby, where after showing good footwork on the edge of the box she chipped United goalkeeper Mary Earps.

This is the second consecutive time that Weir has been included on the Puskas shortlist, having also been nominated last year for a long-range stunner against United.

Tottenham’s Son Heung-min won the 2020 crown for his solo goal against Burnley in the Premier League.

Son’s former Spurs team-mate Lamela, who is now with Sevilla, has been nominated for this year’s award for his Rabona finish in the north London derby against Arsenal in March.

Mahrez, meanwhile, has been shortlisted for his goal for Algeria against Zimbabwe in African Cup of Nations qualifying last November, where after controlling the ball with his heel on the run, he turned his opponent inside out before slotting home.

Another contender is Czech Republic striker Patrik Schick for his effort against Scotland at Euro 2020 where he beat goalkeeper David Marshall from almost on the halfway line.

The winner will be decided by an international panel comprising of ‘FIFA legends’ and fans from across the world and will be announced at the Best FIFA Football Awards on January 17, 2022.

The full shortlist is: Luis Diaz (Colombia v Brazil), Gauthier Hein (Auxerre v Chamois Niortais), Erik Lamela (Tottenham v Arsenal), Valentino Lazaro (Borussia Monchengladbach v Bayer Leverkusen), Riyad Mahrez (Algeria v Zimbabwe), Sandra Owusu-Ansah (Supreme Ladies FC v Kumasi Sports Academy Ladies FC), Vangelis Pavlidis (Willem II v Fortuna Sittard), Daniela Sanchez (Queretaro FC v Atletico de San Luis), Patrik Schick (Czech Republic v Scotland), Mehdi Taremi (Porto v Chelsea), Caroline Weir (Manchester City Women v Manchester United Women).

Register for free to continue reading

Registration is a free and easy way to support our truly independent journalism

By registering, you will also enjoy limited access to Premium articles, exclusive newsletters, commenting, and virtual events with our leading journalists

Already have an account? sign in

By clicking ‘Register’ you confirm that your data has been entered correctly and you have read and agree to our Terms of use, Cookie policy and Privacy notice.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy policy and Terms of service apply.

Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in