World Cup draw 2018: When is it, where can I watch it, how does it work, who has qualified and where is it?

All 32 teams will find out who awaits them in Russia next summer

Jack Austin
Friday 01 December 2017 09:24 GMT
Russia 2018: Which teams have qualified for the World Cup?

The World Cup draw is now very nearly upon us with the eyes of the 32 qualified nations firmly trained on Moscow.

While big names such as Italy, Chile and the Netherlands missed out, as well as home nations Wales, Scotland, Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland, teams such as Panama and Iceland will be buzzing with excitement for their first World Cup finals.

England could face a tricky draw due to their current Fifa ranking, despite easing their way through qualification. Here's all you need to know:

When is it?

The draw for the group stages of the 2018 World Cup will be held at 3pm GMT on Friday 1st December, in Moscow. It will take place at the Kremlin.

Where can I watch it?

The draw will be shown live on Sky Sports or alternatively you can follow The Independent’s live blog to find out which group your country will be allocated into.

Who is in it?

The teams qualified are:

Uefa (Europe): Russia (hosts) France, Portugal, Germany, Serbia, Poland, England, Spain, Belgium, Iceland, Switzerland, Croatia, Sweden, Denmark

Conmebol (South America): Brazil, Uruguay, Argentina, Colombia, Peru.

Concacaf (North/Central America and Caribbean): Mexico, Costa Rica, Panama

AFC (Asia): Iran Football, South Korea Football, Japan Football, Saudi Arabia

CAF (Africa): Tunisia, Nigeria, Morocco, Senegal, Egypt

How does the draw work?

The 32 teams will be split into four pots based on their current Fifa world rankings, with the Pot 1 containing the seven highest-ranked sides plus tournament hosts Russia. Pot 2 will feature the next best teams, and so on and so forth for Pots 3 and 4.

As it stands Germany, Brazil, Portugal, Argentina, Belgium, Poland and France will join Russia in Pot 1.

The countries will be divided into eight groups of four from A to H with each side playing three times before the top two advance to the second round. Russia will be dropped into Group A as hosts.

Who is in each Pot?

Pot 1 (world rankings in brackets): Russia (hosts), Germany (1), Brazil (2), Portugal (3), Argentina (4), Belgium (5), Poland (6), France (7)

Pot 2: Spain (8), Peru (10), Switzerland (11), England (12), Colombia (13), Mexico (16), Uruguay (17), Croatia (18)

Pot 3: Demark (19), Iceland (21), Costa Rica (22), Sweden (25), Tunisia (28), Egypt (30), Senegal (32), Iran (34)

Pot 4: Serbia (38), Nigeria (41), Australia (43), Japan (44), Morocco (48), Panama (49), South Korea (62), Saudi Arabia (63)

When is the World Cup?

The World Cup kicks off on Thursday 14 June with Russia playing in the opening game. The final will be held in Moscow on Sunday 15 July.

Join our commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in