Fifa Ballon d'Or: Andres Iniesta and the best players never to win the award

Barcelona and Spain midfielder was overlooked yet again this week

Simon Rice
Wednesday 09 January 2013 14:42

Many, including this year's recipient, have argued that Andres Iniesta should have won the Fifa Ballon d'Or that was awarded earlier this week.

The Barcelona midfielder was the driving force behind his country's Euro 2012 success, just as he was when Spain won the tournament in 2008 and the 2010 World Cup. The 28-year-old was also instrumental in his club's midfield as the Catalans continued to entertain like no other side.

Having been overlooked for Lionel Messi, who won the prize for the fourth year in a row, perhaps Iniesta's best chance of winning the award has gone.

Should Iniesta fail to be recognised as the world's greatest player at some stage in his career a shocking omission will surely have been created when the record books are looked back on in future years. But which other greats missed out on the award...

Click here or click 'VIEW GALLERY' to launch our guide.

Register for free to continue reading

Registration is a free and easy way to support our truly independent journalism

By registering, you will also enjoy limited access to Premium articles, exclusive newsletters, commenting, and virtual events with our leading journalists

Already have an account? sign in

By clicking ‘Register’ you confirm that your data has been entered correctly and you have read and agree to our Terms of use, Cookie policy and Privacy notice.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy policy and Terms of service apply.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in