Gareth Bale, Michael Carrick, Juan Mata, Luis Suarez, Robin van Persie and Eden Hazard nominated for PFA Player of the Year award

Players from Manchester United, Chelsea, Liverpool and Tottenham complete shortlist

Simon Rice
Friday 19 April 2013 12:29
The Player of the Year nominees
The Player of the Year nominees

The nominations for the 2012/13 Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year have been announced.

The nominees for the Player of the Year are: Gareth Bale (Tottenham), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Juan Mata (Chelsea), Luis Suarez (Liverpool), Robin van Persie (Manchester United) and Eden Hazard (Chelsea).

The nominees for the Young Player of the Year are: Gareth Bale (Tottenham), Christian Benteke (Aston Villa), Romelu Lukaku (West Brom), Danny Welbeck (Manchester United), Eden Hazard (Chelsea) and Jack Wilshere (Arsenal).

While the inclusion of Bale, Mata, Suarez and van Persie will have come as no surprise in the main category, the selections of Hazard and Carrick in particular are likely to raise eyebrows.

The Debate: Who should win the PFA Player of the Year award? Take part in our exclusive poll

The Chelsea youngster Hazard has enjoyed a strong debut season since joining from Lille last summer with the Belgian helping the Blues to the semi-finals of both the Europa League and FA Cup. Yet with Mata already representing Chelsea, some may claim other players were more worthy of inclusion.

The same will likely be said of Carrick who at 31, receives his first nomination. The Manchester United midfielder has played a key role in United's dominance of the Premier League this season, making a total of 32 league appearances. Yet with just one goal and four assists this season, others might feel aggrieved to have been overlooked.

Among those not on the list that might have expected to have been include Swansea City striker Michu, who has scored 17 Premier League goals in his debut season for the Welsh side, as well as three in their run to the League Cup title.

Aston Villa striker Christian Benteke, Arsenal's Santi Cazorla and Manchester City's David Silva are just some of the others who might have been included in today's shortlist.

The Debate: Who should win the PFA Player of the Year award? Take part in our exclusive poll

In numbers: The nominees (All figures relate to the Premier League)

Gareth Bale

Appearances 27

Goals 17

Goals per match 0.63

Shots 128

Assists 6

Michael Carrick

Appearances 32

Goals 1

Goals per match 0.03

Shots 16

Assists 4

Juan Mata

Appearances 29

Goals 10

Goals per match 0.34

Shots 51

Assists 14

Luis Suarez

Appearances 32

Goals 22

Goals per match 0.69

Shots 163

Assists 9

Robin Van Persie

Appearances 33

Goals 21

Goals per match 0.64

Shots 116

Assists 13

Eden Hazard

Appearances 30

Goals 8

Goals per match 0.27

Shots 50

Assists 14

Christian Benteke

Appearances 30

Goals 15

Goals per match 0.5

Shots 95

Assists 4

Romelu Lukaku

Appearances 29

Goals 13

Goals per match 0.45

Shots 69

Assists 4

Danny Welbeck

Appearances 25

Goals 1

Goals per match 0.04

Shots 32

Assists 4

Jack Wilshere

Appearances 20

Goals 0

Goals per match 0

Shots 12

Assists 5

Register for free to continue reading

Registration is a free and easy way to support our truly independent journalism

By registering, you will also enjoy limited access to Premium articles, exclusive newsletters, commenting, and virtual events with our leading journalists

Already have an account? sign in

By clicking ‘Register’ you confirm that your data has been entered correctly and you have read and agree to our Terms of use, Cookie policy and Privacy notice.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy policy and Terms of service apply.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in