England World Cup squad in full: Gareth Southgate names 23-man side plus stand-by list for Russia 2018

England begin their 2018 World Cup campaign on 18 June

Jack de Menezes
Thursday 17 May 2018 07:36
England World Cup squad stats

Gareth Southgate has named his 23-man England squad for the 2018 World Cup in Russia next month, plus his additional five-man stand-by list.

A number of leaks emerged ahead of the announcement, with both Joe Hart and Jack Wilshere being informed that they had not been selected by the England manager for the tournament, while both Wayne Rooney and James Milner have announced their international retirement since the 2016 European Championship.

As a result, Southgate has elected to take a youthful squad with one eye firmly on Euro 2020 and the 2022 World Cup in the hope that the current crop develop into a side capable of challenging for top honours.

But despite taking one of the youngest England squads to ever attend a World Cup, Southgate did refrain from selecting any of England’s emerging Under-21s, meaning that the likes of Ryan Sessegnon, Jadon Sancho and Ademola Lookman missing out on a surprise call-up.

Southgate’s side will compete in Group G alongside Belgium, Panama and Tunisia, with their campaign set to begin on 18 June against Tunisia before facing Panama on 24 June and finally Belgium on 28 June.

See the squad in full by clicking the gallery below.

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Jack Butland (Stoke), Nick Pope (Burnley)

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier, Danny Rose (both Tottenham), Harry Maguire (Leicester), Phil Jones (Man Utd), John Stones (Man City), Gary Cahill (Chelsea)

Midfielder: Jordan Henderson, (Liverpool), Eric Dier, Dele Alli (both Tottenham), Jesse Lingard, Ashley Young (both Man Utd), Fabian Delph (Man City), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea),

Forwards: Raheem Sterling (Man City), Jamie Vardy (Leicester), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Man Utd), Danny Welbeck (Arsenal).

Stand-by list: Tom Heaton (Burnley), James Tarkowski (Burnley), Lewis Cook (Bournemouth), Jake Livermore (West Bromwich Albion), Adam Lallana (Liverpool)

Register for free to continue reading

Registration is a free and easy way to support our truly independent journalism

By registering, you will also enjoy limited access to Premium articles, exclusive newsletters, commenting, and virtual events with our leading journalists

Already have an account? sign in

By clicking ‘Register’ you confirm that your data has been entered correctly and you have read and agree to our Terms of use, Cookie policy and Privacy notice.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy policy and Terms of service apply.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in