Spain World Cup squad: Julen Lopetegui announces 23-man selection for Russia

Chelsea's Alvaro Morata is the headline name to miss out alongside Blues teammates Cesc Fabregas, Pedro and Marcos Alonso

Monday 21 May 2018 12:57
Russia 2018: Which teams have qualified for the World Cup?

Spain have announced a star-studded World Cup squad ahead of Russia this summer.

Head coach Julen Lopetegui named his 23-man squad on Monday with Chelsea's Alvaro Morata the headline name to miss out alongside Blues teammates Cesc Fabregas, Pedro and Marcos Alonso. Cesar Azpilicueta and former Chelsea striker Diego Costa are included, however.

Manchester United's David De Gea is the No 1 choice between the sticks with former Liverpool goalkeeper Pepe Reina backing him up.

Sergio Ramos will captain the side and is joined by Real Madrid teammates Marco Asensio, Dani Carvajal, Nacho and Lucas Vazquez.

Barcelona's Andres Iniesta, who is leaving the Camp Nou after 22 years this summer, is also included. He of course scored the winning goal in the final back in 2010.

Morata's late-season lack of form appears to have cost him his place in Russia.

The 25-year-old managed only 11 league goals this season and after falling behind Olivier Giroud in the Stamford Bridge pecking order only appeared as a last-minute substitute in Saturday's FA Cup final victory over Manchester United.

Arsenal full-back Hector Bellerin, Atletico Madrid forward Vitolo and Bayern Munich midfielder Javi Martinez are also surprise omissions.

Morata's poor recent form has cost him a place in Russia

Spain, seen by many as tournament favourites, open their campaign against rivals Portugal on June 15 before facing Iran five days later. They close Group B against Morocco on June 25.

Full squad

Goalkeepers: David De Gea (Manchester United), Pepe Reina (Napoli), Kepa (Athletic Bilbao)

Defenders: Dani Carvajal, Sergio Ramos, Nacho (all Real Madrid), Jordi Alba, Gerard Pique (both Barcelona), Nacho Monreal (Arsenal), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Odriozola (Real Sociedad)

Midfield: Sergio Busquets, Andres Iniesta (both Barcelona) Saúl, Koke (both Atletico), Thiago (Bayern) David Silva (Manchester City),
Isco, Marco Asensio, Lucas Vázquez (all Real Madrid)

Forward: Iago Aspas (Celta), Rodrigo (Valencia), Diego Costa (Atletico)

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments