Sir: Law 4, Paragraph 3 states that 'studs of a player's boot must conform to the British Standard BS 6366:1983.' I find it incredible that Jamie Salmon admits to his ignorance of this Law as it applies equally to forwards and backs, English and All Black 'amateur' and 'professional.' It is one of the few instances in the Laws where the referee has no discretion.
Yours sincerely,
DAMIAN DIXON
Nottingham
1 March
Join our commenting forum
Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies
Bookmark popover
Removed from bookmarks