Stay up to date with notifications from The Independent

Notifications can be managed in browser preferences.

Formula E: What is the next race and which cities are on the 2022 calendar?

All you need to know as Season 8 reaches its exciting climax

Sports Staff
Friday 05 August 2022 15:35 BST
(Getty Images)

Motor racing continues to enthrall and impress across all disciplines with many championships growing hugely in stature and audience over the past couple of years, and Formula E is no exception.

The FIA’s all-electric championship sees drivers take their no-emissions cars into street races across the globe, pushing the boundaries of new technologies as they seek to surge to victory.

At the same time, FE aims to further highlight the necessity, and the ability, of cities and organisations to affect global change in terms of sustainability, social improvement and of course electric mobility.

Formula E takes place across North, Central and South America, Asia and Europe, with 22 drivers and 11 teams looking to win the championship, with Nyck de Vries triumphing last year for Mercedes-EQ.

Here’s everything you need to know.

Where and when is the next Formula E race?

Rounds 15 and 16 take place in Seoul, South Korea, across the weekend of 13-14 August. Races are held on consecutive days in six of the locations this year.

Races on both days commence at 8am BST.

What is the full calendar for 2022?

Round 1: Diriyah, Saudi Arabia

R2: Diriyah, Saudi Arabia

R3: Mexico City, Mexico

R4: Rome, Italy

R5: Rome, Italy

R6: Monaco, Monaco

R7: Berlin, Germany

R8: Berlin Germany

R9: Jakarta, Indonesia

R10: Marrakesh, Morocco

R11: New York, USA

R12: New York, USA

R13: London, UK

R14: London, UK

R15: Seoul, South Korea

R16: Seoul, South Korea

When does Season 9 begin?

Provisional dates have been set for season nine in 2023, which will see a new generation of electric vehicles used in races: the Gen3 series.

Pre-season testing takes place in Valencia from 11-14 December 2022, before the first race of the new season is planned for 14 January in Mexico City.

Hyderabad and Sao Paulo are new additions to the calendar.

What are the standings and list of drivers?

Following the New York City double-header, Stoffel Vandoorne overtook Edoardo Mortara to lead the championship. Mitch Evans then moved into second place after the two races in London. The top four in the title fight and their points tallies are:

  1. Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes-EQ) 185pts
  2. Mitch Evans (Jaguar TCS) 149pts
  3. Edoardo Mortara (Rokit Venturi) 144pts
  4. Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah) 128pts

The full list of results and driver standings can be seen here.

The 2022 London E-Prix will be broadcast live on terrestrial television on Channel 4 on July 30 & 31. Buy tickets and follow all updates from the race at ExCeL London here.

Join our commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in