Twitter asks users to actually read an article before sharing it

The company is testing the feature for English-speaking Android users

Adam Smith
Thursday 11 June 2020 08:49 BST
Comments
The Twitter logo is seen on a phone in this photo illustration in Washington, DC, on July 10, 2019
The Twitter logo is seen on a phone in this photo illustration in Washington, DC, on July 10, 2019 (AFP/Getty)

Twitter has announced a new feature that will encourage users to read articles before sharing them.

The company said it was testing the new addition on English-speaking Android users.

"If a user tries to retweet an article before sharing it, Twitter will ask that user whether they want to open the article before doing so,” a Twitter Support account tweeted.

“Sharing an article can spark conversation, so you may want to read it before you Tweet it. To help promote informed discussion, we're testing a new prompt on Android –– when you Retweet an article that you haven't opened on Twitter, we may ask if you'd like to open it first.”

Users making articles go viral on Twitter without reading them can be “powerful but sometimes dangerous" said Kayvon Beykpour, product lead at Twitter. “This feature (on Android for now) encourages people to read a linked article prior to Retweeting it.”

This test is not the only change to the platform Twitter is making. The company is also testing the ability to let users decide who can or cannot reply to individual tweets.

Another experiment is a prompt to users asking them to “revise" their language when tweeting rude or “harmful” content.

Finally, it was discovered that the company is working to re-open its verification process but with no announced timeline for when it will be available to the general public.

Join our commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

Comments

Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in