Stay up to date with notifications from The Independent

Notifications can be managed in browser preferences.

Mozart's 42nd computer

Charles Arthur,Science Editor
Wednesday 06 August 1997 23:02 BST

Can a decomposing composer compose? In the modern world, yes - with the help of a computer. A program written by David Cope, a scientist and musician, has now produced new works by Mozart, Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin, Mahler, Rachmaninoff and the ragtime composer, Scott Joplin.

Among 10 symphonies generated by the program, named EMI ("Experiments in Musical Intelligence"), is Mozart's 42nd symphony, premiered in Santa Cruz, California, in April, and produced 207 years after Wolfgang Amadeus wrote his 41st.

It is "one of the most pro-vocative things I've ever come across in artificial intelligence," said Douglas Hofstadter, a cognitive scientist.

Mr Cope devised EMI in 1982, aged 41, as a way of analysing music he had written.

The program takes pieces of music, breaking them up into tiny "phrases", and reassembling them after applying a grammar and syntax of music set down by Mr Cope. The distinctive sound of a composer is captured by sifting examples of the composer's music for short sequences that show up in piece after piece.

Record companies and retail chains are taking to the Internet. Virgin Megastores, a division of WH Smith, is expected to set up an Internet site in the autumn, while last week, Dillons and Waterstone's announced they would start competing over the Internet with US firms such as, a Seattle-based Internet mail order company which has attracted millions of visitors by starting a promotion scheme in which the author John Updike began a mystery story using paragraphs contributed by visitors to the site.

Leading article, page 11

The Tabloid, page 2

Join our commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in