AP's Nixon wins News Leader of the Year award from NLA

The News Leaders Association has given Ron Nixon of The Associated Press its first-ever News Leader of the Year award

Via AP news wire
Monday 05 April 2021 22:45 BST
Media News Leader Awards
Media News Leader Awards

Support truly
independent journalism

Our mission is to deliver unbiased, fact-based reporting that holds power to account and exposes the truth.

Whether $5 or $50, every contribution counts.

Support us to deliver journalism without an agenda.

Louise Thomas

Louise Thomas


Ron Nixon, global investigations editor at The Associated Press, has won the first-ever News Leader of the Year award from the News Leaders Association.

Nixon's investigative team produced an award-winning series on labor abuses in the palm oil industry. He was nominated by his team, which credited Nixon's leadership in building diversity and infusing the company with greater investigative capacity.

The association also honored The Guardian and Kaiser Health News for their work accounting for deaths among frontline medical workers iduring the COVID-19 pandemic.

Other award winners include Jack Dolan and Brittny Mejia of The Los Angeles Times for an investigation on delays in medical care; The New York Times for coverage of police misconduct; Stephanie Clifford who wrote about the relationship between a journalist and Martin Shkreli the “pharma bro," for Elle magazine; The City, for work on obituaries in collaboration with Columbia Journalism School and the Craig Newmark Graduate School for Journalism at CUNY; Jenee Osterheldt of The Boston Globe for opinion writing on race and culture; and Kelu Chao and the journalists of Voice of America for standing up for the rights of journalists.

The News Leaders Association advocates for a free press and helps train future leaders in journalism.

Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in