ICC awards 2018: Virat Kohli cleans up as four England players named in ODI team of the year

The Indian batsman was also named as the captain for both the Test and ODI teams of the year

Tuesday 22 January 2019 09:26
Virat Kohli was honoured by the ICC for an outstanding 2018
Virat Kohli was honoured by the ICC for an outstanding 2018

Virat Kohli has taken a clean sweep in the International Cricket Council’s awards for 2018, being named as the ICC cricketer of the year, Test player of the year and ODI player of the year.

The 30-year-old scored 2,735 runs in 37 matches in all formats last year, averaging 68.37 with 11 hundreds and nine fifties.

In ODIs he scored 1,202 runs at an average of 133.55 and became the fastest player to reach the milestone of 10,000 runs in the format.

Four England players were also named in the ICC’s ODI team of the year for 2018.

Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler all made it into the side after a year which saw England beat Australia by 242 runs at Trent Bridge after scoring a world-record 481 for six.

However, no England players made it into the Test team of the year, with New Zealand trio Tom Latham, Kane Williamson and Henry Nicholls among those selected, alongside India skipper Kohli, who was named as captain of both the Test and ODI sides.

Wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant claimed the ICC’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year award.

Virat Kohli's India will travel to Australia for a four Test series in December

Root said: “It feels really great to be named in the ICC ODI squad and the fact that three of my team-mates are there along with me, makes it extra special.

“We had a fine year and expectations are on the rise as we look forward to playing the ICC Cricket World Cup at home this year.”

Test team of the year

Tom Latham (New Zealand), Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Virat Kohli (India, cap), Henry Nicholls (New Zealand), Rishabh Pant (India, wk), Jason Holder (West Indies), Kagiso Rabada (South Africa), Nathan Lyon (Australia), Jasprit Bumrah (India), Mohammad Abbas (Pakistan).

ODI team of the year

Rohit Sharma (India), Jonny Bairstow (England), Virat Kohli (India, cap), Joe Root (England), Ross Taylor (New Zealand), Jos Buttler (England, wk), Ben Stokes (England), Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Kuldeep Yadav (India), Jasprit Bumrah (India).


Register for free to continue reading

Registration is a free and easy way to support our truly independent journalism

By registering, you will also enjoy limited access to Premium articles, exclusive newsletters, commenting, and virtual events with our leading journalists

Already have an account? sign in

By clicking ‘Register’ you confirm that your data has been entered correctly and you have read and agree to our Terms of use, Cookie policy and Privacy notice.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy policy and Terms of service apply.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in