Chelsea win Club of the Year Trophy at Ballon d’Or 2021 awards ceremony

The Blues were handed the award after the achievements of both men’s and women’s teams

Karl Matchett
Monday 29 November 2021 22:30

Chelsea have been named as the first winners of the new Club of the Year award at the Ballon d’Or 2021 ceremony.

The Blues had a number of individuals all aiming for awards in their respective categories, which highlighted how well both the men’s and women’s teams had fared in their respective seasons.

Edouard Mendy eventually came second in the goalkeepers award, the Yashin Trophy, while Jorginho finished third and N’Golo Kante fifth in the main men’s Ballon d’Or award.

For the women’s Feminin award, Chelsea had four players on the 10-strong shortlist - Sam Kerr finishing third as the highest-ranked of them.

However, consolation followed for the club as an entire entity as they were named the top side overall for their on-pitch efforts. That follows the men winning the Champions League under Thomas Tuchel, while the women’s side were WSL champions under Emma Hayes.

This season they have both started in good form once again domestically, with the Blues top of the Premier League and second in the WSL heading into December.

Romelu Lukaku, Mason Mount, Cesar Azpilicueta, Pernille Harder, Fran Kirby and Jessie Fleming were all on the shortlist for the Ballon d’Or awards.

Register for free to continue reading

Registration is a free and easy way to support our truly independent journalism

By registering, you will also enjoy limited access to Premium articles, exclusive newsletters, commenting, and virtual events with our leading journalists

Already have an account? sign in

By clicking ‘Register’ you confirm that your data has been entered correctly and you have read and agree to our Terms of use, Cookie policy and Privacy notice.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy policy and Terms of service apply.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in