Cristiano Ronaldo should have had penalty against West Ham, former referee says

The Man United forward was denied an opportunity to add to his goal tally from the spot

Jamie Braidwood
Monday 20 September 2021 17:42
Comments
<p>Cristiano Ronaldo was involved in two penalty incidents at the London Stadium  </p>

Cristiano Ronaldo was involved in two penalty incidents at the London Stadium

Cristiano Ronaldo should have been awarded a penalty in Manchester United’s 2-1 win at West Ham on Sunday, according to former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher.

The Portuguese forward was involved in two penalty appeals at the London Stadium, the first when he fell over Vladimir Coufal’s outstretched leg and the second when he went down under Kurt Zouma’s sliding challenge.

Both appeals were waved away and were not overturned by VAR, as United chased a late victory. Jesse Lingard’s 89th-minute goal earned the visitors three points, with Mark Noble missing the opportunity to draw the match when West Ham were awarded a penalty for a handball on Luke Shaw in stoppage time.

Ronaldo continued his record of scoring in each of his United appearances since rejoining the club as he pulled Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s side level in the first half, but Gallagher insisted that the 36-year-old was denied an opportunity to score a second from the spot.

Appearing on Ref Watch on Sky Sports, Gallagher said a penalty should have been given for Coufal’s challenge while referee Martin Atkinson made the correct decision to not award a spot-kick for Zouma’s challenge.

On the Coufal tackle, he said: “I was surprised this wasn’t given. I think it’s an easier decision to make to give a penalty.

“He dangled a leg, they adjudged he tried to take it away, but he’d already gone too far into the challenge, for me.”

But when reviewing the next incident, the former official had a different take. “I think this is going to split everyone,” he said.

“My original thought was ‘penalty’, but when I see Martin Atkinson’s view I thought ‘no penalty’, because Ronaldo goes down way before the contact.

“He anticipates the contact, but goes down way before the contact is made. Many would give a penalty, many wouldn’t, but that’s the nature of the beast; it’s a very subjective matter.”

Ronaldo was also denied a penalty in United’s 2-1 defeat by Young Boys in the Champions League on Tuesday.

Register for free to continue reading

Registration is a free and easy way to support our truly independent journalism

By registering, you will also enjoy limited access to Premium articles, exclusive newsletters, commenting, and virtual events with our leading journalists

Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid email
Must be at least 6 characters, include an upper and lower case character and a number
Must be at least 6 characters, include an upper and lower case character and a number
Must be at least 6 characters, include an upper and lower case character and a number
Please enter your first name
Special characters aren’t allowed
Please enter a name between 1 and 40 characters
Please enter your last name
Special characters aren’t allowed
Please enter a name between 1 and 40 characters
You must be over 18 years old to register
You must be over 18 years old to register
Opt-out-policy
You can opt-out at any time by signing in to your account to manage your preferences. Each email has a link to unsubscribe.

Already have an account? sign in

By clicking ‘Register’ you confirm that your data has been entered correctly and you have read and agree to our Terms of use, Cookie policy and Privacy notice.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy policy and Terms of service apply.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

Comments

Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged in