World Cup 2022 qualification: England to face Poland in group I

The Three Lions have now discovered their route to Qatar in 2022

Jack Rathborn
Tuesday 08 December 2020 13:37
England have learnt 'so much' despite losses says Gareth Southgate

Gareth Southgate’s England will play Poland in Group I on the road to the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski will be the man to stop when the Three Lions take on Jerzy Brzęczek’s side.

Southgate’s side historically have a superior head-to-head record, winning 11 out of 19 games and losing just once, with the last meeting between the sides a 2-0 victory for England back in 2013 during World Cup qualification for Brazil 2014, with goals that day from Wayne Rooney and Steven Gerrard.

England have met the Poles in qualifying for the 1974, 1990, 1994, 2006 and 2014 World Cups, as well as taking on England in the finals in Mexico in 1986. England and Poland also met in qualifying for the 1992 and 2000 European Championships.

England will also face Hungary, Albania, Andorra and San Marino.

The Three Lions reached the semi-finals in Russia in 2018 with Croatia proving too strong in the end for Southgate’s side.

England are still to play in the postponed Euro 2020, which will now take place next summer, but they now have a schedule through to the next two tournaments.

Group I

  • England
  • Poland
  • Hungary
  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • San Marino 

Groups in full

A Portugal, Serbia, Republic of Ireland, Luxembourg, Azerbaijan

B Spain, Sweden, Greece, Georgia, Kosovo

C Italy, Switzerland, Northern Ireland, Bulgaria, Lithuania

D France, Ukraine, Finland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kazakhstan

E Belgium, Wales, Czech Republic, Belarus, Estonia

F Denmark, Austria, Scotland, Israel, Faroe Islands, Moldova

G Netherlands, Turkey, Norway, Montenegro, Latvia, Gibraltar

H Croatia, Slovakia, Russia, Slovenia, Cyprus, Malta

I England, Poland, Hungary, Albania, Andorra, San Marino

J Germany, Romania, Iceland, North Macedonia, Armenia, Liechtenstein

Key Dates

Matchday 1: 24–25 March 2021

Matchday 2: 27–28 March 2021

Matchday 3: 30–31 March 2021

Matchday 4: 1–2 September 2021

Matchday 5: 4–5 September 2021

Matchday 6: 7–8 September 2021

Matchday 7: 8–9 October 2021

Matchday 8: 11–12 October 2021

Matchday 9: 11–13 November 2021

Matchday 10: 14–16 November 2021

Play-offs: 24, 25, 28, 29 March 2022

World Cup: 21 November–18 December

Register for free to continue reading

Registration is a free and easy way to support our truly independent journalism

By registering, you will also enjoy limited access to Premium articles, exclusive newsletters, commenting, and virtual events with our leading journalists

Already have an account? sign in

By clicking ‘Register’ you confirm that your data has been entered correctly and you have read and agree to our Terms of use, Cookie policy and Privacy notice.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy policy and Terms of service apply.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in