Robert Lewandowski wins Striker of the Year at Ballon d’Or 2021 award ceremony after prolific year with Bayern Munich

The Polish striker won the inaugural trophy at the award ceremony in Paris

Karl Matchett
Monday 29 November 2021 22:20

Bayern Munich and Poland striker Robert Lewandowski has received the first Striker of the Year award at the Ballon d’Or ceremony.

The new award was announced just before the shortlist ranking started to be revealed, with Club of the Year also handed out for the first time at this year’s event.

Lewandowski’s free-scoring consistency made him a favourite to win the 2020 Ballon d’Or which was ultimately cancelled, and he was similarly among the contenders to win this year’s award before Messi claimed the prize.

The PSG forward, after accepting his award, sent a pointed message to say that Lewandowski had been the best player in 2020 and he hoped France Football would award the Polish striker with the Ballon d’Or retrospectively.

For now, though, the Bayern man adds this new addition to the individual honours calendar to his own list of achievements, having netted 64 goals across the calendar year of 2021.

Lewandowski won the German Bundesliga with Bayern earlier this year and also claimed the European Golden Shoe after finishing with 41 league goals from just 29 appearances. He netted three times at Euro 2020 as Poland failed to get past the group stage.

Register for free to continue reading

Registration is a free and easy way to support our truly independent journalism

By registering, you will also enjoy limited access to Premium articles, exclusive newsletters, commenting, and virtual events with our leading journalists

Already have an account? sign in

By clicking ‘Register’ you confirm that your data has been entered correctly and you have read and agree to our Terms of use, Cookie policy and Privacy notice.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy policy and Terms of service apply.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in