Italian Grand Prix result: Pierre Gasly fights off Carlos Sainz to win thriller at Monza and take first victory

AlphaTauri driver takes the first win of his career after a red flag-affected race sees Lewis Hamilton finish down in seventh

Philip Duncan
Sunday 06 September 2020 20:55
Pierre Gasly celebrates winning the Italian Grand Prix
Pierre Gasly celebrates winning the Italian Grand Prix

Pierre Gasly raced to one of the most surprising victories in recent Formula One history in a chaotic Italian Grand Prix on Sunday.

The Frenchman, who drives for Alpha Tauri, took the chequered flag at Monza just 0.4 seconds clear of McLaren's Carlos Sainz with Racing Point's Lance Stroll completing an unpredictable podium.

"Honestly, it is unbelievable," said Gasly, who was dropped by Red Bull last year. "I cannot believe what is happening right now. It was such a crazy race.

"I have been through so much in the space of 18 months. I struggle to realise this. I have got no words."

Gasly became the first French winner since Olivier Panis triumphed for Ligier at Monaco 24 years ago.

"I always said that is one thing I need to change but I never expected it to happen with Alpha Tauri."

Sainz added: "It was a bit unlucky with the Safety Car but we did a good job to recover and I am very happy with second."

Lewis Hamilton finished only seventh after he was forced to serve a 10-second stop-and-go penalty for stopping for tyres when the pit lane was closed.

Hamilton, who until that point appeared on course to cruise to his 90th career win, described the decision as "bull****".

The best race of what has been a turgid season took a dramatic twist when the Safety Car was deployed on lap 20 with Kevin Magnussen's Haas parked up in a dangerous position.

Lewis Hamilton follows the safety car during the Italian Grand Prix

Hamilton had established a 11-second lead over the McLaren duo of Sainz and Lando Norris before diving into the pits too soon and facing the wrath of the stewards.

Stroll stayed out, moving him to second, while an early stop from Gasly promoted him to third. The Frenchman had started 10th on the grid.

With Magnussen's car removed, the race restarted on lap 24 but a little more than a minute later, Charles Leclerc crashed out at one of the fastest corners on the calendar.

The Ferrari driver was midway through the Parabolica when he veered into the barriers at speeds approaching 180mph.

Leclerc was winded in the huge accident but managed to remove himself from the cockpit.

"Are you OK?" asked the Ferrari pit wall. A breathless Leclerc responded: "Yes, it was a big crash."

Pierre Gasly takes in the podium after winning the Italian Grand Prix

The red flags were deployed, with the cars pulling into the pit lane and Hamilton appearing to head to the stewards' office to protest his penalty.

A 27-minute delay ensued with Stroll, who had not stopped, allowed to take on fresh rubber.

But a poor getaway after the red-flag period blew the Canadian's chances. Indeed, it was Gasly, the 24-year-old, who got the best start moving into second behind Hamilton.

The world champion then stopped to serve his penalty with Gasly assuming the lead.

Sainz hustled Gasly to the flag, with McLaren bidding to win their first race since 2012, but it was the French driver who prevailed to claim his maiden grand prix win.

Gasly was in tears as he crossed the line, screaming in delight following a memorable win.

Monza produced one of the youngest and surprising podiums seen in F1

British driver Norris finished fourth ahead of Valtteri Bottas, only fifth following a poor start. Daniel Ricciardo was sixth for Renault ahead of Hamilton, who passed eight cars and claimed the fastest lap of the race following his penalty.

His nearest title challenger Max Verstappen retired with a technical problem, while Sebastian Vettel also failed to reach the end following a brake failure.

Final positions after race (53 laps)

1 Pierre Gasly (Fra) Scuderia AlphaTauri 1hr 47mins 06.056secs

2 Carlos Sainz (Spa) McLaren 1:47:06.472

3 Lance Stroll (Can) Racing Point 1:47:09.414

4 Lando Norris (Gbr) McLaren 1:47:12.056

5 Valtteri Bottas (Fin) Mercedes GP 1:47:13.164

6 Daniel Ricciardo (Aus) Renault 1:47:14.447

7 Lewis Hamilton (Gbr) Mercedes GP 1:47:23.301

8 Esteban Ocon (Fra) Renault 1:47:24.747

9 Daniil Kvyat (Rus) Scuderia AlphaTauri 1:47:28.264

10 Sergio Perez (Mex) Racing Point 1:47:29.280

11 Nicholas Latifi (Can) Williams 1:47:38.932

12 Romain Grosjean (Fra) Haas F1 1:47:41.220

13 Kimi Raikkonen (Fin) Alfa Romeo Racing 1:47:42.368

14 George Russell (Gbr) Williams 1:47:42.649

15 Alexander Albon (Tha) Red Bull 1:47:43.589

16 Antonio Giovinazzi (Ita) Alfa Romeo Racing 1:48:01.255

Not Classified: 

17 Max Verstappen (Ned) Red Bull 30 laps completed

18 Charles Leclerc (Mon) Ferrari 23 laps completed

19 Kevin Magnussen (Den) Haas F1 17 laps completed

20 Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Ferrari 6 laps completed


Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments