What time is the Grand National, where can I watch and who is running?

All you need to know ahead of Saturday’s big race

Karl Matchett
Saturday 10 April 2021 09:26
<p>After a year away, the Grand National is returning to Aintree</p>

After a year away, the Grand National is returning to Aintree

One of the many sporting events to suffer last year during the pandemic is back in 2021, with the Grand National at Aintree fast approaching.

Back in 2019, the winner was Tiger Roll, ridden by Davy Russell, with the horse winning back-to-back Nationals - the first time for that particular achievement since Red Rum in 1974. However, Tiger Roll will not be aiming for three-in-a-row this year as he was rated one pound off the top weight. The final 40 horses are yet to be confirmed. The runner-up two years ago, Magic Of Light, is hoping to become the first mare to win the world’s most famous steeplechase event since 1951.

At least three female jockeys will be riding in the National, including Rachael Blackmore and Bryony Frost, while Tom Scudamore is hoping to ride the favourite Cloth Cap to victory and emulate his grandfather, who won the National in 1959 on Oxo.

There are some reports suggesting that the race could yet be put back a week, after the government announced a new plan to move out of lockdown which includes high street shops - including bookies - reopening from Monday 12 April. That would allow casual punters to place a bet in-shop and bring some much-needed respite from those high street operators who have seen a dramatic fall in intake over the past year. However, no such confirmation of any change has emerged, so it’s currently full steam ahead for the final few days of build-up.

Here’s everything you need to know ahead of the National.


When is the Grand National 2021?

Aintree’s Grand National meeting runs from Thursday, 8 April through to Saturday, 10 April. The main event, the National, is presently set for Saturday, with runners going to post for 5:15pm.

Where can I watch it?

Live coverage will be televised on ITV 1. Streaming will also be available via the ITV Hub.

Who is running?

1 Bristol de Mai (FR) 10 11-10 167 Mr Simon Munir & Mr Isaac Souede Nigel Twiston-Davies Daryl Jacob

2 Chris’s Dream (IRE) 9 11-7 164 Robcour Henry de Bromhead IRE Darragh O’Keeffe

3 Yala Enki (FR) 11 11-3 160 Hills of Ledbury Ltd Paul Nicholls Bryony Frost

4 Ballyoptic (IRE) 11 11-1 158 Mills & Mason Partnership Nigel Twiston-Davies Sam Twiston-Davies

5 Definitly Red (IRE) 12 11-1 158 Phil & Julie Martin Brian Ellison Henry Brooke

6 Lake View Lad (IRE) 11 11-0 157 Mr Trevor Hemmings Nick Alexander Brian Hughes

7 Burrows Saint (FR) 8 10-13 156 Mrs S. Ricci Willie Mullins IRE Paul Townend

8 Magic of Light (IRE) 10 10-13 156 Ann & Alan Potts Limited Mrs Jessica Harrington IRE Robbie Power

9 Acapella Bourgeois (FR) 11 10-12 155 Slaneyville Syndicate Willie Mullins IRE Danny Mullins

10 Talkischeap (IRE) 9 10-12 155 Mr Charles Dingwall Alan King Tom Cannon

11 Tout Est Permis (FR) 8 10-12 155 Gigginstown House Stud Noel Meade Sean Flanagan

12 Anibale Fly (FR) 11 10-12 155 Mr John P McManus Tony Martin IRE Denis O’Regan

13 Mister Malarky (GB) 8 10-12 155 Wendy & Malcolm Hezel Colin Tizzard Jonjo O’Neill Jnr

14 Kimberlite Candy (IRE) 9 10-10 153 Mr John P McManus Tom Lacey Richie McLernon

15 Any Second Now (IRE) 9 10-9 152 Mr John P McManus Ted Walsh IRE Mark Walsh

16 Balko des Flos (FR) 10 10-9 152 Gigginstown House Stud Henry de Bromhead IRE Aidan Coleman

17 Alpha des Obeaux (FR) 11 10-9 152 Gigginstown House Stud Mrs Denise Foster IRE Jody McGarvey

18 Ok Corral (IRE) 11 10-8 151 Mr John P McManus Nicky Henderson Derek O’Connor

19 Takingrisks (IRE) 12 10-7 150 Mr Frank Bird Nicky Richards Sean Quinlan

20 Shattered Love (IRE) 10 10-7 150 Gigginstown House Stud Mrs Denise Foster IRE Kevin Sexton

21 Jett (IRE) 10 10-7 150 Mr Robert Waley-Cohen Mrs Jessica Harrington IRE Sam Waley-Cohen

22 Lord du Mesnil (FR) 8 10-6 149 Mr Paul Porter & Mike & Mandy Smith Richard Hobson Nick Scholfield

23 Potters Corner (IRE) 11 10-6 149 All Stars Sports Racing & J Davies Christian Williams Jack Tudor

24 Class Conti (FR) 9 10-6 149 Mr Simon Munir/Mr Isaac Souede Willie Mullins IRE Brian Hayes

25 Milan Native (IRE) 8 10-6 149 Gigginstown House Stud Mrs Denise Foster IRE Jamie Codd

26 Discorama (FR) 8 10-6 149 Thomas Friel/Andrew Gemmell Paul Nolan IRE Bryan Cooper

27 Vieux Lion Rouge (FR) 12 10-5 148 Prof Caroline Tisdall & Mr John Gent David Pipe Conor O’Farrell

28 Cloth Cap (IRE) 9 10-5 148 Mr Trevor Hemmings Jonjo O’Neill Tom Scudamore

29 Cabaret Queen (GB) 9 10-5 148 Syndicates.Racing Willie Mullins IRE Sean O’Keeffe

30 Minellacelebration (IRE) 11 10-5 148 Mr Nick Elliott Katy Price Ben Poste

31 Canelo (IRE) 8 10-4 147 Mr John P McManus Alan King Tom Bellamy

32 The Long Mile (GB) 7 10-4 147 Mr John P McManus JP Dempsey IRE Luke Dempsey

33 Give Me A Copper (IRE) 11 10-4 147 Done, Ferguson, Mason, Nicholls & Wood Paul Nicholls Harry Cobden

34 Farclas (FR) 7 10-3 146 Gigginstown House Stud Mrs Denise Foster IRE Jack Kennedy

35 Minella Times (IRE) 8 10-3 146 Mr John P McManus Henry de Bromhead IRE Rachael Blackmore

36 Sub Lieutenant (IRE) 12 10-3 Ms G Howell Georgie Howell Tabitha Worsley

37 Hogan’s Height (IRE) 10 10-3 146 Foxtrot Racing: Hogan’s Height Jamie Snowden Gavin Sheehan

38 Double Shuffle (IRE) 11 10-2 145 Crossed Fingers Partnership Tom George Jonathan Burke

39 Ami Desbois (FR) 11 10-2 145 The Reserved Judgment Partnership Graeme McPherson Kielan Woods

40 Blaklion (GB) 12 10-2 145 Darren & Annaley Yates Dan Skelton Harry Skelton

RESERVES 1: Some Neck (FR) 10 10-1 144 Some Neck Partnership John McConnell IRE Simon Torrens


Cloth Cap 4/1

Burrows Saint 8/1

Kimberlite Candy 10/1

Any Second Now 10/1

Minella Times 10/1

Secret Reprieve 12/1

Discorama 14/1

The Storyteller 14/1

Magic Of Light 20/1

Potters Corner 20/1

Bristol De Mai 25/1

Anibale Fly 25/1

Milan Native 25/1

Acapella Bourgeois 25/1

Farclas 25/1

Mister Malarky 33/1

Balko Des Flos 33/1

Class Conti 33/1

Lord Du Mesnil 33/1

Canelo 33/1

Lake View Lad 33/1

Yala Enki 33/1

Double Shuffle 40/1

All remaining runners at 40/1 or greater

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments