<p>Toronto, Canada’s largest city, is shut to international visitors</p>

Toronto, Canada’s largest city, is shut to international visitors

The countries that are closed to tourism

Closures are most common in Asia and Europe

Cathy Adams@Cathman
Wednesday 10 March 2021 14:36

One in three destinations around the world are shut to international visitors, new research shows, as Covid travel restrictions choke off tourism.

Data from the World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) Travel Restrictions Report shows that new variants of Covid-19 have prompted governments to slam their doors shut on international tourists, with 69 destinations currently closed.

In the main, closures are most common in Asia, the Pacific and Europe, says the UNWTO, which monitored the regulations in 217 countries.

As of the beginning of February, 32 per cent of all destinations (69) are shut for tourism, including 30 places in Asia and the Pacific, and 15 in Europe, says UNWTO.

Meanwhile, 34 per cent of destinations are at least partially shut, and 32 per cent of all countries demand PCR tests from visitors (often combined with quarantine), the UNWTO found.

“Travel restrictions have been widely used to restrict the spread of the virus. Now, as we work to restart tourism, we must recognise that restrictions are just one part of the solution,” says UNWTO secretary-general Zurab Polilikashvili.

“Their use must be based on the latest data and analysis and consistently reviewed so as to allow for the safe and responsible restart of a sector upon which many millions of businesses and jobs depend.”

Currently, all leisure travel both within the UK and beyond is banned. According to the government roadmap, international travel will be permitted from 17 May at the earliest.

The destinations that have shut their borders to tourism, says UNWTO

  1. Algeria
  2. Angola
  3. Argentina
  4. Austria
  5. Belgium
  6. Benin
  7. Brunei Darussalam
  8. Bulgaria
  9. Burkina Faso
  10. Burundi
  11. Cambodia
  12. Cameroon
  13. Canada
  14. Cayman Islands
  15. Chile
  16. China
  17. Cook Islands
  18. Czech Republic
  19. Democratic People’s Republic of Korea
  20. Denmark
  21. Equatorial Guinea
  22. Eritrea
  23. Fiji
  24. French Guyana
  25. French Polynesia
  26. Germany
  27. Hungary
  28. India
  29. Indonesia
  30. Iran
  31. Israel
  32. Japan
  33. Kazakhstan
  34. Laos
  35. Lesotho
  36. Madagascar
  37. Malaysia
  38. Marshall Islands
  39. Micronesia
  40. Mongolia
  41. Montserrat
  42. Myanmar
  43. New Caledonia
  44. New Zealand
  45. Niue
  46. Norway
  47. Palau
  48. The Philippines
  49. Poland
  50. Reunion
  51. Russia
  52. Samoa
  53. Saudi Arabia
  54. Slovakia
  55. Solomon Islands
  56. Suriname
  57. Syrian Arab Republic
  58. Taiwan
  59. Tajikistan
  60. Timor Leste
  61. Tonga
  62. Trinidad and Tobago
  63. Turkmenistan
  64. Tuvalu
  65. Uruguay
  66. Vanuatu
  67. Venezuela
  68. Vietnam
  69. Yemen

Note: Kuwait has since shut its borders completely to international visitors. The UNWTO report lists Kuwait as having “partially shut” borders.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments