UK election results live: David Cameron keeps Osborne, May and Hammond in cabinet as Miliband, Clegg and Farage quit as leaders

Follow it all here with results and reaction from the final constituencies

David Cameron speaks outside Downing Street
David Cameron speaks outside Downing Street

The highlights of the 2015 General Election so far:

Conservative insiders say party will use majority to move to the right
David Cameron vows to 'govern as party of one nation' as he begins second term as Prime Minister
George Osborne, Theresa May, Philip Hammond and Michael Fallon re-appointed as ministers
Ed Miliband announces resignation as Labour leader
Nigel Farage loses Thanet South and quits as Ukip leader - but leaves the door open to return
Nick Clegg also quits as leader of the Lib Dems after a disastrous election for the party
Conservatives pass 326 seats, securing an outright majority
Ed Balls loses in biggest shock of the night for Labour
Other major casualties include Scottish leader Jim Murphy and shadow Foreign Secretary Douglas Alexander
Vince Cable and Danny Alexander among the major Liberal Democrat casualties
SNP celebrates 'electoral tsunami' and wins 56 out of 59 seats in Scotland
Boris Johnson returns to Parliament as MP for Uxbridge

You can follow all the action in the liveblog below. In the meantime, check out our dynamic results map showing all the results as they declare.

Please wait a moment for the liveblog to load

Meanwhile, you can find out how your seat voted with our live-updating constituency checker here.

Join our commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in