Fury vs Ngannou rules: How many rounds and do knockouts count tonight?

Tyson Fury boxes ex-UFC champion Francis Ngannou in Saudi Arabia – here’s all you need to know

Alex Pattle
Combat Sports Correspondent
Saturday 28 October 2023 21:23 BST
Comments
Tyson Fury's wife shares impact of his boxing on their children: 'I worry to this day'

Tyson Fury will go up against Francis Ngannou in a crossover heavyweight clash in Saudi Arabia tonight.

In one corner will be Fury, the unbeaten WBC champion; in the other, Ngannou, who reigned as UFC champion until he left the MMA promotion in January.

The Cameroonian will make his boxing debut here, before returning to mixed martial arts with the Professional Fighters League in 2024.

Meanwhile, Fury will next face unified boxing champion Oleksandr Usyk, in a bid to crown the first undisputed champion in over two decades. Here’s all you need to know. We may earn commission from some of the links in this article, but we never allow this to influence our content. This revenue helps to fund journalism across The Independent.

When is the fight?

The fight will take place on Saturday 28 October in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.

The main card is expected to start at 6pm BST (10am PT, 12pm CT, 1pm ET). Ring walks for the main event are then expected at around 10.45pm BST (2.45pm PT, 4.45pm CT, 5.45pm ET).

How can I watch it?

In the UK, the event will air live on TNT Sports Box Office at a cost of £21.95 for viewers in the UK. In Ireland, the event will cost €29.99 if purchased in advance or €34.99 on the day of the fights. Viewers do not need to have a TNT subscription in order to purchase the event. In the US, the event will stream live on ESPN+ pay-per-view.

Watch Fury vs Ngannou live on Dazn globally, by clicking here – excluding USA, UK/Ireland, and Canada.

If you’re travelling abroad and want to watch the event, you might need a VPN to unblock your streaming app. Our VPN round-up is here to help and includes deals on VPNs in the market. Viewers using a VPN need to make sure that they comply with any local regulations where they are and also with the terms of their service provider.

Odds

Tyson Fury, left, and Francis Ngannou face off in London (James Manning/PA)

Fury – 1/14

Ngannou – 15/2

Draw – 28/1

Via Betway.

What are the rules?

This will be a heavyweight boxing match, with no MMA rules involved. The fight is scheduled for 10 three-minute rounds, with a victor being decided on points or via knockout/TKO. The result is expected to count towards Fury’s professional boxing record – which is 33-0-1, and Ngannou’s, which is 0-0 – but the Briton’s WBC title will not be on the line.

What is the prize money?

Fury has said, via the Mirror, that Ngannou will be earning $10m for the fight. Meanwhile, Derek Chisora has claimed, via The Sun, that Fury will be making $50m. That is not believed to factor in sponsorships.

Full card (subject to change)

Tyson Fury vs Francis Ngannou (heavyweight)

Fabio Wardley vs David Adeleye (heavyweight)

Joseph Parker vs Simon Kean (heavyweight)

Martin Bakole vs Carlos Takam (heavyweight)

Arslanbek Makhmudov vs Junior Anthony Wright (heavyweight)

Moses Itauma vs Istvan Bernath (heavyweight)

Jack McGann vs Alcibiade Duran (super-welterweight)

Join our commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

Comments

Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in