Unesco World Heritage list: 21 new places added in 2017

The 2017 list of Unesco World Heritage sites includes the Lake District

Helen Coffey
Wednesday 12 July 2017 12:37 BST
There are 20 new World Heritage Sites
There are 20 new World Heritage Sites (Cultural Heritage Conservation Center of THAD)

Unesco’s World Heritage List 2017 is out, with 21 new places receiving the prestigious accolade of being declared a Unesco World Heritage Site.

Essentially the Oscars for sites of natural beautiful or cultural significance, the Unesco World Heritage List is reappraised every year at the annual committee meeting, which ends today.

The 2017 edition was held in Krakow from 2 to 12 July. The 41st session of the World Heritage Committee decided which of 33 nominated sites, including six natural sites, 26 cultural and one that was proposed both as a natural and cultural site, were worthy of being named World Heritage Sites.

Some 20 places were added to the list, among them the Lake District in the UK. It now sits alongside the likes of the Great Barrier Reef, Taj Mahal, Grand Canyon and the Great Wall of China.

John Glen, Minister for Arts, Heritage and Tourism said: "The Lake District is one of the UK’s most stunning and ancient landscapes and I am thrilled it has been granted World Heritage Site status. It is a unique part of the world, that combines a vibrant farming community with thousands of archaeological sites and structures that give us an amazing glimpse into our past.”

He added: "This decision will undoubtedly elevate the position of the Lake District internationally, boosting tourism and benefiting local communities and businesses."

National Trust Assistant Director for the Lake District, Mike Innerdale, told The Independent: “We are delighted that World Heritage Site status recognises the Lakes as the spiritual home of the Trust, our work to look after it over the last 120 years and how that gave rise to a global conservation movement. We now look after a fifth of the National Park on behalf of the nation, including mountains, lakes, farms, woods, land, castles and attractions like Beatrix Potter’s home.”

Here are the other 20 sites that made the cut.

Unesco World Heritage new additions

City of Yazd, Iran

Venetian Works of Defence, Croatia, Italy, Montenegro

Valongo Wharf, Brazil

Tarnowskie Góry Lead-Silver-Zinc Mine, Poland

Taputapuātea, France

Temple Zone of Sambor Prei Kuk, Cambodia

Qinghai Hoh Xil, China

Okinoshima, Japan

Mbanza Kongo, Angola

Los Alerces national park, Argentina

Kulangsu, China

Kujataa, Denmark

Assumption Cathedral, Russia

Aphrodisias, Turkey

Swabian Jura, Germany

ǂKhomani Cultural Landscape, South Africa

Dauria, Mongolia / Russia

Hebron/Al-Khalil, Palestine

Asmara, Eritrea

Ahmedabad, India

Join our commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in