<p>How to see who has ignored your follow requests on Instagram</p>

How to see who has ignored your follow requests on Instagram

Instagram folder shows users all the pending follow requests they’ve sent to private profiles

Pending follow request means users will see ‘Requested’ when they visit private Instagram profiles

Chelsea Ritschel
New York
Wednesday 20 October 2021 23:41
Comments

Instagram users can identify the private users who ignored their follow requests rather than denied or approved by navigating to a somewhat-hidden feature on the app.

When private followers receive a follow request, they are presented with two options, to either accept or deny the request.

If they do nothing, however, the request stays unfulfilled, which means that the Instagram user who requested to follow won’t be able to see their profile, but will instead see “Requested” indefinitely where there is otherwise a “Follow” button.

For Instagram users who send multiple follow requests, there is a way to see which users have ignored these requests, according to The New York Post, which notes that the folder listing these pending users “takes a bit of digging to find”.

According to the outlet, finding the ignored requests requires users to navigate to their Profile, and then to the Menu button, shown as a three-line icon in the upper right corner, where they should then click on Settings.

Once in Settings, the Instagram user has to click on Security, and then Access Data, before scrolling down to the Connections section.

Upon clicking on the “current follow requests” section, users will be able to see all of the accounts that they have attempted to follow, with The Post noting that unsending the pending requests requires users to visit each individual profile listed.

Alternatively, if a user has denied a follow request, the “Requested” button typically turns back into a “Follow” button for users visiting their profile.

The discovery of the feature, which can only be accessed on mobile and not desktop, comes after many Instagram users, including T-Pain, recently shared their dismay upon learning that message requests on the app from users you don’t follow are filtered into a separate messages folder.

The message requests typically only appear when you are in the Direct Messages section of the app, with users notified that they have requests in the upper right corner.

The folder allows users to accept or deny each of these messages, with Instagram noting that “messages from people you follow on Instagram will appear in your Chats list”.

Register for free to continue reading

Registration is a free and easy way to support our truly independent journalism

By registering, you will also enjoy limited access to Premium articles, exclusive newsletters, commenting, and virtual events with our leading journalists

Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid email
Must be at least 6 characters, include an upper and lower case character and a number
Must be at least 6 characters, include an upper and lower case character and a number
Must be at least 6 characters, include an upper and lower case character and a number
Please enter your first name
Special characters aren’t allowed
Please enter a name between 1 and 40 characters
Please enter your last name
Special characters aren’t allowed
Please enter a name between 1 and 40 characters
You must be over 18 years old to register
You must be over 18 years old to register
Opt-out-policy
You can opt-out at any time by signing in to your account to manage your preferences. Each email has a link to unsubscribe.

Already have an account? sign in

By clicking ‘Register’ you confirm that your data has been entered correctly and you have read and agree to our Terms of use, Cookie policy and Privacy notice.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy policy and Terms of service apply.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

Comments

Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged in