Stay up to date with notifications from The Independent

Notifications can be managed in browser preferences.


Ballon d’Or results LIVE: Winners revealed as Karim Benzema beats Sadio Mane and Kevin De Bruyne to award

Alexia Putellas won the Ballon d’Or Feminin for the second year in a row while Thibaut Courtois, Sadio Mane, Robert Lewandowski and Gavi also won prizes

Jamie Braidwood
Monday 17 October 2022 21:55 BST
'Benzema's Ballon d'Or would be a bit ours too' - Ancelotti after win over Barca

Karim Benzema has won the men’s Ballon d’Or, becoming just the second player outside of Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo to be awarded the prize in the past 15 years. Benzema won the trophy after leading Real Madrid to the LaLiga and Champions League double last season and scoring a remarkable 44 goals in 46 appearances for the Spanish club.

Benzema finished ahead of Sadio Mane, Kevin De Bruyne and Robert Lewandowski at the Paris ceremony to crown a sensational year for the France international, as he followed his Real Madrid team-mate Luka Modric by breaking through Messi and Ronaldo’s dominance of football’s greatest individual prize.

Earlier, Barcelona captain Alexia Putellas became the first two-time winner of the Ballon d’Or Feminin after taking back-to-back awards. England and Arsenal forward Beth Mead, who was the top scorer at Euro 2020, finished second, ahead of the Chelsea striker Sam Kerr. Barcelona midfielder Gavi won the Kopa Trophy for best young player while Thibaut Courtois won the Yashin Trophy for best goalkeeper.


Ballon d’Or: Cristiano Ronaldo (20th)

After returning to Manchester United, Ronaldo scored 18 Premier League goals at the age of 37 to earn himself a 17th nomination for the Ballon d’Or. Ronaldo scored a series of late winners on his return, as well as a hat-trick against Tottenham in March. However after United were knocked out of the Champions League at the round of 16 phase and suffered their worst Premier League season, Ronaldo tried to leave Old Trafford this summer.

(Getty Images)
Jamie Braidwood17 October 2022 17:19

Ballon d’Or: Harry Kane (21st)

After signalling that he wanted to leave Tottenham in the summer, Kane got back to business once the season began as he scored 27 goals in all competitions to help Antonio Conte’s side qualify for the Champions League. The England captain continues to break goalscoring records for both club and country, while his performance in the 3-2 win at Manchester City was one of the best individual displays of last season.

(Getty Images)
Jamie Braidwood17 October 2022 17:16

Ballon d’Or: Trent Alexander-Arnold (=22nd)

Alexander-Arnold enjoyed another superb season for Liverpool as the Reds won a domestic double and reached the Champions League final. The right back recorded 12 assists as he was named in the Premier League’s team of the season for the third time, as well as the Champions League team of the season.

(Liverpool FC via Getty Images)
Jamie Braidwood17 October 2022 17:11

Ballon d’Or: Phil Foden (=22nd)

Already a four-time Premier League champion at the age of 22, Foden had the best season of his career for City after scoring nine Premier League goals and winning the division’s young player of the year award for the second consecutive season. Played a key role in City’s comeback against Aston Villa on the final day.

(Getty Images)
Jamie Braidwood17 October 2022 17:04

Ballon d’Or: Bernardo Silva (=22nd)

Silva won his fourth Premier League title in another outstanding campaign for Manchester City, in which he was probably their best player over the first few weeks of the season. The Portugal international was once again named in the Premier League team of the season and scored 13 goals for City in all competitions.

(Getty Images)
Jamie Braidwood17 October 2022 16:56

Ballon d’Or: Joshua Kimmich (=25th)

One of two players representing Bayern Munich last season on the list, Kimmich again helped the Bavarians to the Bundesliga title, which is already the seventh of the 27-year-old’s career. Last season may not have been his greatest, but the Germany international remains one of Europe’s best.

(Getty Images)
Jamie Braidwood17 October 2022 16:48

Ballon d’Or: Mike Maignan (=25th)

One of just two goalkeepers on the 30-player shortlist, Maignan played a staring role as AC Milan won their first Serie A title in 11 years last season. The France international was named Serie A’s goalkeeper of the season.

(Getty Images)
Jamie Braidwood17 October 2022 16:41

Ballon d’Or: Antonio Rudiger (=25th)

Like Cancelo, Rudiger was named in the Premier League team of the season as the German defender helped Chelsea to a top-four finish. With his contract coming to an end, he left Stamford Bridge as a fan favourite and joined European champions Real Madrid.

(Getty Images)
Jamie Braidwood17 October 2022 16:33

Ballon d’Or: Joao Cancelo (=25th)

The Portuguese full-back won his second Premier League title for Manchester City in which he played an even greater role in their attack under Pep Guardiola, adding seven assists as his side beat Liverpool to the title.

(AFP via Getty Images)
Jamie Braidwood17 October 2022 16:25

Ballon d’Or: Christopher Nkunku (=25th)

Another first-time Ballon d’Or nominee, Nkunku was named the Bundesliga player of the season after a stunning campaign for RB Leipzig in which he scored 20 goals and made 13 assists from attacking midfield. It came as he received his first France cap and a big money move is set to follow in the coming years.

(Getty Images)
Jamie Braidwood17 October 2022 16:20

Join our commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in