Stay up to date with notifications from The Independent

Notifications can be managed in browser preferences.

F1 reveal unique Las Vegas Grand Prix schedule and ‘opening ceremony’ plans

The 50-lap race on the strip is taking place on a Saturday night while an opening ceremony will also be held

Kieran Jackson
Formula 1 Correspondent
Wednesday 11 October 2023 10:21 BST
Comments
Viva Las Vegas! F1 confirms night race from 2023

Formula 1 has confirmed the schedule for the Las Vegas Grand Prix next month including a 10pm local start time for the race on Saturday night and an opening ceremony before cars are on track.

F1 is returning to Sin City for the first time in over 40 years in November, with the 3.8 mile street track on the Vegas strip staging the penultimate race of the 2023 season in what is being billed as one of the sporting events of the year.

Now, plans and timings have been confirmed by race organisers – with the race start time confirmed to be 10pm PST (6am GMT, 1am ET) under the lights on Saturday 18 November.

The event schedule will start, rather uniquely, on a Wednesday night with a lavish opening ceremony.

It could well follow a similar order of play to Miami’s pre-event spectacle, where drivers and team bosses were introduced on stage.

Practice takes place on Thursday 16 November, with qualifying on Friday 17 November at midnight (PST), which is 8am GMT and 3am ET on Saturday morning.

Race organisers announced this week that Nevada residents can secure a single-day grandstand ticket for Thursday practice, starting at $200, with race day tickets around $1,300. Three-day tickets for $500 have already sold out.

The schedule for the Las Vegas Grand Prix has been confirmed (F1 Las Vegas Grand Prix)

Preparation for the Las Vegas race has seen numerous roads closed while construction takes place, with the project as a whole costing an estimated $560m.

A man working on the construction at the Bellagio Fountains area tragically died last month after suffering a “major laceration to the neck.” A spokesperson for the police confirmed the worker was involved in construction for the Vegas race circuit.

The 3.8-mile track passes a host of famous Sin City landmarks, including the Bellagio, Caesars Palace and the new MGM Sphere.

F1 is returning to Vegas for the first time since 1982, when the Caesars Palace Grand Prix was held in the car park of the famous hotel.

Join our commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

Comments

Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in